Bookish

Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Soooo I’m doing this super late, but I’m off sick (UGH) from uni this week so I thought I’d do it! I did this tag last year and I wasn’t tagged for it this year, but I’m doing it anyway! This tag was created by Chami @ Read Like Wildfire and Ely Jayne @ Earl Grey Books


Screen Shot 2017-08-09 at 1.46.01 PM

Unfortunately, I’ve had to change my reading goal SO MANY TIMES this year. I am constantly falling behind because I haven’t been able to make much time for reading. But I am hoping to beat my goal by the end of this year!

 

Best Book You’ve Read so Far in 2017

So this is a lot more than one but honestly all of these were AMAZING. I do think ELIZA AND HER MONSTERS is my favourite so far, followed super close by WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI.

ALEX, APPROXIMATELY | THE HATE U GIVE | THIS ADVENTURE ENDS | UNCONVENTIONAL | ELIZA AND HER MONSTERS | UNDER ROSE-TAINTED SKIES | WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI

Best Sequel You’ve Read so Far this Year

lord of shadows

Hands. Down. This was AMAZING, I LOVED it and I have no idea how I’m going to wait until 2019 for the next book.

LORD OF SHADOWS

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet but Want To

I’ve been pretty good at staying on top of new releases but I REALLY want to get to these three soon!

A MILLION JUNES | HUNTED | WINTERSONG

Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

There are a few more books coming out in the second half of the year that I’m excited for, but these three are at the top of my list!

THE BECOMING OF NOAH SHAW | THEY BOTH DIE AT THE END | BECAUSE YOU LOVE TO HATE ME

Biggest Disappointment

Ahhhh I was so let down by all of these books. LOVE, LUCAS was so cliche to me and I just was not interested in the characters or plot at all. I had heard amazing things about THE DIVINERS so I was super excited to pick it up but it really let me down. It was good but it wasn’t great. I have to admit that I much preferred the movie adaptation of THE REVISED FUNDAMENTALS OF CAREGIVING. There were so many things about this book that aggravated me which sucks cause I love the movie.

LOVE, LUCAS | THE DIVINERS | THE REVISED FUNDAMENTALS OF CAREGIVING

Biggest Surprise

I was really surprised by these two books! I had heard some negative things about BEFORE I FALL so I was hesitant going in, but it ended up being so much better than I expected! THE PROBABILITY OF MIRACLES was also surprisingly good! I wasn’t a fan of The Museum of Intangible Things and did not expect to like this, but it was pleasantly surprised!

BEFORE I FALL | THE PROBABILITY OF MIRACLES

Favourite New Author

Hmmm this is a hard one but I think I’m going to go with Jennifer L. Armentrout. I started reading books by her last year BUT I have been obsessed with her books this year, especially those published under J. Lynn. I love her writing and cannot wait to pick up more by her!

Favourite New Crush

when dimple met rishi

Oooooooooh I think I have to go with Rishi from WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI for this one. Honestly, he’s so sweet and cute and I just love him so much.

WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI

Favourite New Characters

22929578

For this one I’m going with the squad from THE FIXER duology by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. I just love Tess and her Hardwicke friends. Like, I really just want to be part of their little group (also I really want need a third novel!) and solve political mysteries with them.

THE FIXER

Book that Made You Cry

a list of cages

It took a little while to think of this because I honestly couldn’t remember if a book has made me cry this year and then I remembered weepy like a baby during A LIST OF CAGES by Robin Roe. This book is beautiful and heartbreaking and ugh I love it so much, you should all read it asap.

A LIST OF CAGES

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought So Far this Year

this adventure ends

Hands down THIS ADVENTURE ENDS by Emma Mills. I mean, look at this cover, it is STUNNING. I find myself looking at it waaaay too often because I mean this is one gorgeous book.

THIS ADVENTURE ENDS

What Books do You Need to Read Before the End of the Year?

I have quiiiiiiite a few books I want to get to before the end of year so maybe I’ll do a TBR post, but these four are the ones I REALLY want to get to!

WINTERSONG | THE DARKEST MINDS | THE YOUNG ELITES | STALKING JACK THE RIPPER


There you have it, a little wrap up of some of the books I’ve read so far this year! Let me know in the comments what your fave books of 2017 are so far and what books you’re looking forward to! Are they any of the ones I’ve mentioned?

Leave a Reply

